Daily Archives: September 6, 2012

The ride is not what keeps me awake at night, it is me in those final moments leaving my children and partner behind for 12 days, this I can not prepare myself for, no amount of training can prepare me for this……

 

 

 

 

 

Hello all

I am sure you are getting fed up with reading about Jogle but I would like to say a few final things if I may and I would be grateful if you would read this email and take a moment to reflect on what the 5 riders are about to under go……..

 As most of you out there know me you know I am a family man and that my 3 children Renee(6), Alyssa(4) and Ethan(3mts) picture attached, mean the world to me they are what I live for.  Taking on a 1000 mile bike ride is very daunting and one that takes much consideration to put your name forward for as  we are not Olympic athletes we are normal men that like a drink or two and the odd pizza!!!….

 The ride is not what keeps me awake at night, it is me in those final moments leaving my children and partner behind for 12 days, this I can not prepare myself for, no amount of training can prepare me for this……

 I have done around 800 miles training on the bike (not as many as James Lyons at around 2500 humm!!! I think he has the bike computer set to a child’s bike with 8″ wheels lol) and countless hours at the gym to do what I can to ensure I am best prepared for the event.  When I add this up I have been away from my family to date for around 140hrs on evenings and weekends, this is why my back garden looks like a jungle and I have people living in it!! Working 5 days a week and training as much as possible has taken over my life for the past 6 months and even the smallest things at home like cutting the grass have fallen by the way side lol.

 Why am I telling you this I hear you ask, I want you to understand best you can what we have all done to date and what we leave for tomorrow.  Many people would say no to driving 1000 miles we are going to do it with the 2 things connected to our rear ends, there is no spout to add fuel to these we go forward with our own steam and the backing of those that support our cause.

 I would like to thank you for what you have done so far for the event to date.  Can I ask that you put every ounce of effort into your charity events and raise as much money as you possibly can.  We are out there doing more than our fair share and we will be driven by you doing yours…..

 Jogle facts

We will turn the pedals 280 times per mile at a speed of 15mph so 28,000 times  per 100 mile day

We will burn around 6000 calories per day on average (James around 8000 as has been hitting the wine lately!! I did load the 3 cases on the van my son don’t worry)

 I have shaved my legs, we are still waiting for you Dave?

I will see around 32 lorries per day ( for those who don’t know I love lorries) depending on the road types obviously, I have my Eddie Stobart sticker book. Don’t worry Dave I have one for you we can play swops at the campsite lol…….

Jogle Slogans

Pain is weakness leaving the body (what moron thought of this one)

Blood Sweat and Gears (credit where it’s due I like this one)

 There are many more but I can’t say unless I send the email after 9!!! We need you all now more than ever please please do us proud…. every 20 minutes some one is diagnosed with a form of blood cancer, so many individuals and families suffer, we can help them, you can help them!!

 Some of you may remember at a conference a few years ago a child held up a piece of cardboard saying ‘Thank you’ if that is not enough to get you out there and do your bit I don’t know what is.  I wasn’t even there and it was powerful enough to hit me right in the chest!!!!! I will leave you now with your own thoughts, I say bonvoyage to you all

Shane Glass