“It gives me great please to announce we have finished! We have cycled 1000 miles from the top to the bottom of our great a green land.”

 

Ladies and gentlemen

It gives me great please to announce we have finished! We have cycled 1000 miles from the top to the bottom of our great a green land.

But more importantly we have raised in excess of £15,000 to date with the website being open for another week. That is life changing money, we cycled, YOU gave and for that you have my eternal gratitude.

I would like to thank my fellow jogleists first, as without them this challenge would not have happened. You can have all the ideas in the world but if no-one is interested it just doesn’t happen. All the guys have made massive personal sacrifices during the last year of training, from financial to family it all adds up.

We have had an epic adventure, we left John O’Groats some 12 days ago now, it was cold and wet and horrible. We even left late as James needed one last poo before the off!

So many funny things have happened I could go on for pages, but there are a few phrases that will live with the team forever. By all means ask the team for an explanation!

We had “stoke on trent” “Stratford upon Avon” “lances finest” “full steel” “carrera special” and many more I couldn’t put on a family blog!

Dave never had a puncture, James’s bike is the cleanest you will ever see, Chris got a bit of a sun tan! Took him 3 days to go white rather than light blue!

I fell off a few times and uttered the immortal words “I’ve just about had a &&&&ing nuff of you lot” Drive got lost a lot, drive failed to find places that were clearly on a map, drive pulled out on many a white van and Shane’s bike never stopped gently falling apart before our eyes! Such fun that will never be able to be recreated.

As for you lot, wow, £15k! That’s paying for some research, that’s paying for someone to get better. I did this challenge so the boffins at Leukaemia can get closer to making my kids better if I ever get the call. The team did this to make a difference to someone’s life, what you guys raised will have gone a massive way to realising those ambitions.

There’s loads going on in stores and don’t we moan about it all the time?! But you guys still delivered a massive figure. For the donators reading this not associated with a store your money came from your pocket, a pocket which is getting tighter everyday and yet you still gave what you could.

I am so proud that we have inspired so many of you to either do something for charity or get on your bike!

From all the team, the tuck shop has closed, the stickers are coming off the van, the sudacreme is going me bum!I bid you good night and thanks for all you have done.

Ben Summerhill

Leave a comment